Our aviation history is housed at The Flying Boat museum which also contains the Ev Elliott Archives.
Located on the former seaplane base are a
PBY Catalina and four world war two ammunition bunkers.
Botwood has a rich history dating back over 150 years. From its inception as a logging town, to being a refueling base for the giant flying boats during their transatlantic flights from New York to Foynes, Ireland, including becoming a RCAF seaplane base during WWII to its use as a
seaport for the A.N.D Company and Abitibi.
The Botwood Heritage Society has been in existence since 1989. Since then much as been documented and placed on display at our two museums on the former seaplane base.
Come and visit both our museums, take a walk out to Killick Island to see one of the best views of our bay. Go for a walk on one of our four walking trails located throughout our beautiful town!
The Botwood Heritage Center displays our local history with over 13 exhibits and a gift shop housed in the former PanAm terminal built in 1937.
Botwood Heritage Society
709-257-4612 Botwood Heritage Center 709-257-4134 Flying Boat Museum
Off Season contact: 709-257-2839
or check us out on Facebook!